top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
North Dakota Blanks South Dakota, 1-0, in Capturing GWC Softball Championship

North Dakota Captured the 2010 GWC Softball Championship on Monday

North Dakota Captured the 2010 GWC Softball Championship on Monday

May 17, 2010

Box Score Get Acrobat Reader

FARMERS BRANCH, Texas - Emma Gronseth pitched a complete-game gem while Lindy Sippola plated Tournament MVP Casie Hanson in the first inning as that was all North Dakota needed in shutting out South Dakota, 1-0, to capture the 2010 Great West Conference Softball Championship on Monday afternoon at Oran Good Park.

Hanson started things off for the upset-minded Sioux when she led off the game with a single. Shortly after, she stole second base and was bunted to third by Cami Bennett. Then freshman Sippola plated Hanson for the game's only run.

Gronseth (10-16), who earned all-tournament honors with two wins in the tournament, kept the USD bats at bay with only two hits allowed while fanning five batters.

Hanson continued to spark UND's offense with a 2-for-3 effort from the plate.

USD's Mel Johnson (16-14), who propelled the Coyotes in to the championship game with a solid performance this morning, followed that effort with an excellent game of her own as the all-tournament team member went six innings allowing just one run on four hits in the losing effort.

The freshman-filled North Dakota team closes out the year with a 16-35 tally while South Dakota finished 2010 with a 21-30-1 record.

2010 Great West Conference Softball All-Tournament Team
Sara Corcoran - Houston Baptist
Laine Skelton - Houston Baptist
Kristi Alcorn - North Dakota
Cami Bennett - North Dakota
Emma Gronseth - North Dakota
Casie Hanson - North Dakota -- Tournament MVP
Lindy Sippola - North Dakota
Dani Bahlmann - South Dakota
Mel Johnson - South Dakota
Rachel Fricke - South Dakota
Callie Roan - South Dakota
Megan Gardner - Utah Valley
Jessica Martin - Utah Valley
Meghan Woodworth - Utah Valley