top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
Utah Valley's Sammie Jensen Leads All-Great West Women's Basketball Team

GWC First-Team Honorees

GWC First-Team Honorees

March 13, 2013

CHICAGO - For the second consecutive year, Utah Valley forward Sammie Jensen headlines the All-Great West Conference Women's Basketball Team announced Wednesday by the league office.

Jensen's season has produced 17.6 points and a GWC-leading 14.2 rebounds per game. In league games, she posted 19.4 points and a GWC-best 17 rebounds per contest. The senior from Stansbury Park, Utah, moves up to the first-team this year after being a second-team honoree last season.

Joining Jensen on the first team are Rayven Johnson from NJIT, Utah Valley's Kaycee Mansfield, Texas-Pan American's Cassandra Moody and Shanice Steenholdt from Houston Baptist.

Johnson joins Jensen as a repeat first-team All-GWC selection. The senior is the GWC's third-leading scorer with 16 points per game and pulls down 10.3 rebounds per game. In GWC games, Johnson averages 16 points and 11 caroms per outing.

New to the All-GWC team this year are Mansfield and Moody, while Steenholdt moves to the first team after last year's honorable mention accolade.

Mansfield scores 9.7 ppg and pulls down 7.1 rpg. In GWC games, the senior forward averages 13.8 ppg and 8.5 rpg. UTPA's senior forward Moody averages 8.4 ppg and 7.6 rpg and 13 points and nine boards per game in conference play. Sophomore Steenholdt leads the GWC in scoring with 18.6 ppg (19.6 ppg in GWC play) and is third in rebounding at 10.1 rpg (11.0 in conference play).

The second team includes UVU's Tina Doughty (10.4 ppg); UTPA's Joyea Marshall (8.7 ppg, 7.4 rpg) and Bianca Torre ((8.1 ppg, 2.8 assists per game, 1.4 steals per game); NJIT's Uju Nwankwo (7.2 ppg, 7.2 rpg, 1.9 blocks per game); and Chicago State's Tierra Williams (9.3 ppg, 1.7 spg)Torre is a four-time All-GWC selection having been a second-team honoree and Newcomer of the Year as a freshman and a first-team honoree the past two seasons.

Honorable mention honorees include HBU's Wiebke Bruns, Tayler Jefferson and Erin McGarrachan, NJIT's Kimberly Dweck, and Chicago State's Jackie Jones and Paris Williams.

Five players are honored on the All-Newcomer Team led by Marshall who claims Newcomer of the Year honors. Joining her on the All-Newcomer team are UTPA's KaeLynn Boyd, UVU's Tina Doughty, HBU's McGarrachan, and CSU's Layne Murphy.

Mansfield and Nwankwo share the award for Defensive Player of the Year and Tierra Williams wins the Sixth Woman Award.

Utah Valley's Cathy Nixon was named Coach of the Year after leading the Wolverines to their first-ever Great West Conference title in 2012-13 with a 7-1 GWC record. Nixon, in her 18th season at UVU, recorded her 300th career win earlier this season.

The GWC Tournament begins Thursday, March 14, at Chicago, Ill., and is hosted by Chicago State University. The women's title game will be played Saturday, March 16, with tipoff scheduled for 4:00 pm (CT).

2012-13 All-GWC Release Get Acrobat Reader