top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
North Dakota's Bagaason Headlines GWC All-Conference Women's Basketball Team

UND's Kayla Bagaason

UND's Kayla Bagaason

March 10, 2010

NAPERVILLE, Ill. - The Great West Conference has announced its inaugural Women's Basketball All-Conference Team, and North Dakota's Kayla Bagaason heads the list.

Bagaason, who led the Fighting Sioux to the Great West Conference regular-season title, averages 14.3 points per game and shoots 41 percent from beyond the arc. In GWC games, she averaged 16.6 points per game, hit 48 percent of her three-point attempts and made 3.1 treys per game.

Joining Bagaason on the first team were her UND teammate Mallory Youngblut, Jessica Gerald from NJIT, Amber Hegge from South Dakota and Chicago State's Courtney Waldon.

Youngblut averages 12.8 points per game, 7.3 rebounds, 2.1 steals per game and averages 80 percent from the charity stripe. Her rebounding and steal averages are second in the league, and she is tied for first in free throw percentage.

NJIT's Gerald is second in scoring at 15.9 points per game and has made 140-193 free throws for 72.5 percent.

In GWC games she scored 16.3 points per game and made 2.3 treys per contest.

Hegge led the Coyotes with 12.9 points per game and 6.4 rebounds per game. She is second in the league in field-goal percentage at 54.1. In league games she averaged 15.1 points and 7.2 rebounds per game and hit on 56.3 percent of her field goals.

First-team honoree Waldon led Chicago State with 14.4 points and 5.8 rebounds per game. She leads the league in three-point percentage at 44.1 and most three-pointers made with 2.8 per game. In conference games, Waldon averaged 16.0 points and 6.5 rebounds.

The second team included UTPA's Aleeya Grigsby (10.5 points, 8.5 rebounds) and Bianca Torre (13.3 points, 4.3 assists per game), South Dakota's Abby Kinder (11.6 ppg, 39.5 3-pt. pct.), North Dakota's Whitney Ledger (11.1 ppg, 6.9 rpg), UVU's Julie Smith (league-leading 17.3 points per game) and HBU's Destini Texada (8.7 ppg, 6.0 rpg).

Five players were named to the All-Newcomer Team led by Newcomer of the Year Torre.

Joining Torre on the All-Newcomer Team were Kinder, Texada, Chicago State's Tressa Beckel (6.6 ppg) and HBU's Taniqua Hollis (9.8 ppg, 3.1 apg).

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to UTPA's Rose Esther Jean after averaging 6.6 rebounds per game, 1.8 steals and leading the GWC in blocks with 2.0 per game. In GWC games she averaged 7.3 rebounds and 2.2 blocks per contest.

Alys Seay of North Dakota received the Sixth Woman Award after coming off the bench the majority of the season to score 5.2 points per game. She also shot 41 percent from the field.

North Dakota's Gene Roebuck was named Coach of the Year after leading the Fighting Sioux to the regular-season title with an 11-1 GWC record. Overall, North Dakota enters the conference tournament with a 16-13 mark. Roebuck, who is in his 22nd season at UND, has a record of 590-117 with the Sioux and an overall mark of 678-131.

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader