top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
2011 All-Great West Media Football Team Released

GWC Football All-Conference Media Awards Announced (Courtesy of Josh Buchanan)

GWC Football All-Conference Media Awards Announced (Courtesy of Josh Buchanan)

Nov. 23, 2011

LANCASTER, S.C. - For the second year in a row, Southern Utah led the All-Great West Conference Football Media Awards selections and dominated the individual awards. The Thunderbirds took home three of the major individual awards--Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Brad Sorensen; Special Teams Player of the Year, kick returner Austin Minefee; and Freshman of the Year, wide receiver Brady Measom. Other award winners included South Dakota linebacker Adam Broders, named Defensive Player of the Year; South Dakota offensive tackle Tom Compton, named Offensive Lineman of the Year; and North Dakota's Chris Mussman who hauled in Coach of the Year accolades.

Sorensen, a 6-5, 225-pound junior, repeated as first-team All-GWC after throwing for 3,143 yards and 17 touchdowns. His completions (288) and attempts (425) were school records, while his passing yards were just 20 yards shy of the record he established last year. He ranked 8th nationally in completions (26.18 cpg), 9th in passing yards (285.83 ypg) and 12th in total offense (281.27 ypg) after the regular season.

Broders also repeated first-team honors and finished with a league-high 102 total tackles while leading the GWC with three interceptions, including one returned 66 yards for a touchdown. The senior linebacker also totaled 9.5 tackles for loss, four sacks, one pass breakup, and one forced fumble in 10 games.

Minefee was a second-team selection at running back last year but was dynamic on special teams in 2011 as he became the first player in league history to be named player of the week multiple times in two categories. As a senior he finished 7th in the nation in kickoff return average, at 29.24 ypr, and returned two for touchdowns.

Measom took home Freshman of the Year honors and was named second-team All-GWC after he finished third in receptions per game with 4.4 and totaled 547 yards and two touchdowns. The wide receiver was added to the Jerry Rice Watch List, which recognizes the top freshman in the nation by The Sports Network, after he had a league-best 11 catches for 93 yards against South Dakota.

Compton, a senior left tackle, is considered by many to be the best NFL prospect at tackle in FCS and is a repeat first-team selection. He led the No. 2 rushing offense in the GWC as the Coyotes totaled 158.2 yards per game and could be a top 150 selection in the 2012 NFL Draft.

North Dakota's Chris Mussman was chosen Coach of the Year honors after leading the Fighting Sioux to a share of the GWC title. The Sioux improved from a 3-8 record a year ago to an 8-3 mark in 2011, with two of the losses coming against FBS teams.

Following is a list of the GWC All-Conference Media Awards

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: QB Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah, Jr., 6-5, 225

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: ILB Adam Broders, South Dakota, Sr., 6-2, 227

SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: KR Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr., 5-10, 195

OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: LT Tom Compton, South Dakota, Sr., 6-6, 314

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: WR Brady Measom, Southern Utah, 5-9, 165

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chris Mussman, North Dakota




WR Greg Hardin, North Dakota, Soph., 5-11, 184

WR Will Powell, South Dakota, Jr., 6-1, 206

TE Abbel Aiono, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-3, 265

OT Tom Compton, South Dakota, Sr., 6-6, 314

OT Scott Winnewisser, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-5, 285

OG Sean Davies, UC Davis, Jr., 6-4, 290

OG Zach Brackus, Southern Utah, Jr., 6-5, 325

C Gavin Farr, Southern Utah, Jr. 6-3, 300

Tie Ray Wilburn, UC Davis, Jr., 6-2, 280

QB Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah, Jr., 6-5, 225

RB Jake Miller, North Dakota, Soph., 5-11, 167

RB Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr., 5-10, 195

FB *Jake Romanelli, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-3, 240


DE Tyler Osborne, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-2, 245

DE Tyler Starr, South Dakota, Soph., 6-5, 236

DT Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Jr., 6-4, 272

DT Erich Klemme, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-2, 270

OLB Blake Fenn, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-1, 224

OLB Shea Williams, South Dakota, Sr., 6-2, 224

ILB Adam Broders, South Dakota, Sr., 6-2, 227

ILB Chad Hansen, Southern Utah, Soph., 6-3, 225

CB Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Sr., 5-11, 190

CB Dion Turner, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-0, 195

FS Greg Francis, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-1, 190

SS Erron Vonner, Southern Utah, Sr., 5-11, 188


K Kevin Robb, South Dakota, Soph., 5-9, 185

P Cole Zwiefelhofer, South Dakota, Jr., 6-3, 208

KR Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr., 5-10, 195

PR Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Sr., 5-11, 190

LS Troy Shotwell, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-3, 240

* Unanimous



WR Tom Hemmingsen, UC Davis, Soph., 5-10, 175

WR Brady Measom, Southern Utah, Fr., 5-9, 165

TE Seth Wisthoff, North Dakota, Jr., 6-4, 268

OT Brandon Beddes, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-5, 312

OT Connor McKendry, North Dakota, Sr., 6-4, 305

OG R.J. Polley, South Dakota, Sr., 6-6, 320

OG Joe Kleason, North Dakota, Soph., 6-4, 290

C Tim Ross, South Dakota, Jr., 6-2, 286

Tie Geoff Hyde, Cal Poly, Jr., 6-2, 255

Ian McGurran, North Dakota, Jr., 6-2, 296

QB Andre Broadus, Cal Poly, Jr., 6-0, 205

RB Marcus Sims, South Dakota, Jr., 5-10, 196

RB Mark Rodgers, Cal Poly, Sr., 5-8, 180

FB Daryl Brown, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-1, 235


DE Kyle Murphy, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-4, 260

DE Tommy Grillo, UC Davis, Sr., 6-1, 245

DT David Giese, South Dakota, Jr., 6-3, 280

DT Sullivan Grosz, Cal Poly, Soph., 6-4, 265

OLB Herman Sword, Southern Utah, Sr., 5-11, 215

OLB Johnny Millard, Cal Poly, Soph., 6-3, 230

ILB Kennith Jackson, Cal Poly, Jr., 6-0, 230

ILB Dan Hendrickson, North Dakota, Sr., 6-0, 234

CB Jonathan Perkins, UC Davis, Soph., 5-11, 177

CB Marquis Butler, South Dakota, Sr., 6-1, 191

FS Jim Thompson, South Dakota, Sr., 6-1, 212

SS Shane Potter, South Dakota, Sr., 6-2, 207


K Zeb Miller, North Dakota, Soph., 6-1, 209

P Colton Schmidt, UC Davis, Jr., 5-11, 200

KR Mark Rodgers, Cal Poly, Sr., 5-8, 180

PR Jeremy Blount, South Dakota, Sr., 5-8, 159

LS Walter Reed, South Dakota, Jr., 6-0, 247


QB: Dante Warren, South Dakota, Sr., 6-0, 201

FB: Catlin Solum, North Dakota, Sr., 5-10, 218

TE: Jay Burns, South Dakota, Jr., 6-4, 245

OT: Art Munoz, Cal Poly, Sr., 6-2, 275; Robert Ayotte, UC Davis, Sr., 6-5, 295

OG: Trevor Schauerhamer, Southern Utah, Sr., 6-5, 324

DE: Ross Brenneman, North Dakota, Jr., 6-4, 254

DT: Devin Benjamin, North Dakota, Jr., 6-3, 297; Andrew Benjamin, UC Davis, Jr., 6-1, 270

OLB: Byron Gruendl, UC Davis, Jr., 6-2, 200

ILB: Jordan Glass, UC Davis, Jr., 6-2, 240

CB: Daryl Brown, North Dakota, RFr., 5-10, 161

FS: Justin Belotti, North Dakota, Sr., 5-11, 198; Kevyn Lewis, UC Davis, Jr., 5-11, 200

P: Tate Lewis, Southern Utah, Fr., 6-6, 220

KR: Jeremy Blount, South Dakota, Sr., 5-8, 159

PR: Brady Measom, Southern Utah, Fr., 5-9, 165; Erik Mersereau, North Dakota, Jr., 6-0, 207