top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
Utah Valley's Williams Picked to Repeat as Player of the Year

Utah Valley's Isiah Williams Picked to Repeat as Player of the Year

Utah Valley's Isiah Williams Picked to Repeat as Player of the Year

Nov. 11, 2011


2011-12 GWC MBB Preseason TeamsGet Acrobat Reader

As the 2011-12 college basketball season gets underway, Utah Valley's Isiah Williams has been selected by the GWC coaches to repeat as Great West Conference Player of the Year in 2011-12.

The senior guard from Chicago, Ill., was named 2010-11 GWC Player of the Year after a stellar season, averaging 17.5 points per game and leading the Wolverines to the Great West Conference championship. In addition, Williams was also the GWC Newcomer of the Year and became Utah Valley's first basketball All-America honoree when he was named honorable mention All-America by the Associated Press.

Joining Williams on the first team are his teammate Ben Aird (12.0 ppg, 7.8 rebounds and 1.3 blocks), who was a 2010-11 second-team all-GWC honoree, UND's Troy Huff (13.3 ppg) also a second-team selection last season as a freshman, and NJIT's Chris Flores and Isaiah Wilkerson. Flores (12.6 ppg) was a second-team all-GWC honoree each of the last two seasons, while Wilkerson was a first-team selection last year and was chosen GWC Player of the Year by after leading 2010-11 GWC runnerup NJIT with 13.6 points and 6.2 rebounds per game.

Second-team honorees include UVU's Holton Hunsaker (11.1 ppg, 3.2 assists per game) and Geddes Robinson (8.7 ppg). Both Hunsaker and Robinson, who led the league in rebounding with 9.4 rpg., were honorable mention honorees in 2010-11. Another honorable mention selection last season on the preseason second-team is North Dakota's Patrick Mitchell. Mitchell (10.7 ppg, 5.8 rpg) was named the 2011 GWC Tournament Most Valuable Player after leading the Fighting Sioux to the tournament title.

Also on the preseason second team are Texas-Pan American's long-range threats of Brandon Provost and Aaron Urbanus who each averaged 12.5 points per game last year.

Provost led the GWC with .441 percent from three-point range last year earning him 2010-11 second team honors. Urbanus, an honorable mention selection last year, was second in the GWC with .427 percent from beyond the arc.

Rounding out the second team is Chicago State newcomer Jeremy Robinson, a transfer from Iowa Western Community College.

Five players received preseason honorable mention honors--Houston Baptist's Terry Bembry (8.9 ppg, 6.7 rpg) and Joe Latas; CSU's Lee Fisher; NJIT's Lamar Kearse (8.8 ppg); and UND's Jamal Webb (9.3 ppg, 5.4 rpg, 4.1 apg). HBU's Latas and CSU's Fisher are seniors who will be immediately eligible after both earned degrees from their previous schools--Cleveland State andNorthern Illinois, respectively.

Preseason Player of the Year

Isiah Williams, UVU

First Team

Ben Aird, UVU

Chris Flores, NJIT

Troy Huff, UND

Isaiah Wilkerson, NJIT

Isiah Williams, UVU

Second Team

Holton Hunsaker, UVU

Patrick Mitchell, UND

Brandon Provost, UTPA

Geddes Robinson, UVU

Jeremy Robinson, CSU

Aaron Urbanus, UTPA

Honorable Mention

Terry Bembry, HBU; Lee Fisher, CSU; Lamar Kearse, NJIT; Joe Latas, HBU; Jamal Webb, UND