top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
South Dakota's Tyler Cain Leads GWC All-Conference Men's Basketball Team

GWC Player of the Year Tyler Cain

GWC Player of the Year Tyler Cain

March 9, 2010

On the eve of the inaugural Great West Conference Postseason Basketball Tournament, the GWC has announced it first All-Conference Basketball Team selected by a vote of conference coaches and sports information directors.

South Dakota's Tyler Cain, the league's Preseason Player of the Year, lived up to his preseason billing and was selected the GWC Player of the Year.

Cain, the league's leading rebounder at 10.2 boards per game, is third in scoring at 15.1 points per contest. In league games, he averaged 14.8 points and 11.5 rebounds and shot 68 percent from the field.

In addition to being named GWC Player of the Year, Cain was also selected the league's Defensive Player of the Year, due in part to his shot blocking. He averages 2.9 blocks per game and has 84 on the season. In GWC contests, Cain rejected an average of 3.6 shots per game.

Joining Cain on the All-GWC First Team was North Dakota's Travis Bledsoe, South Dakota's Roman Gentry and HBU's Mario Flaherty and Andrew Gonzalez.

Cain's Coyote teammate Gentry, averages 13.6 points per game and a league-leading 86 percent (84-98) from the free throw line. He averaged 17.6 points per game in GWC contests which ranks third.

Gonzalez leads the GWC in scoring at 18.8 points per contest and averaged 22.4 in conference games. He also was fourth in rebounding at 8.3 boards per game in GWC tilts.

Gonzalez' HBU teammate Flaherty was selected to the first team after averaging 13.8 points and 9.0 rebounds per game. In GWC games, Flaherty averaged a double-double with 16.5 points and 11.1 caroms.

First-team honoree Bledsoe was second in the league in scoring at 15.3 points per game, including averaging 21.1 in GWC games. Bledsoe, a proficient three-point shooter, hit 56-127 shots from beyond the arc to lead the league. He connected on 40-83 (.482) in GWC games, averaging 3.3 treys per game.

The second team included NJIT's Chris Flores, NJIT (14.6 ppg), Chicago State's Carl Montgomery (13.3 ppg, 8.6 rpg), Houston Baptist's Wendell Preadom (13.4 ppg, .750 FT pct.), Utah Valley's Jordan Swarbrick (12.7 ppg, .800 FT pct., .402 3-pt. pct.), Christian Wall from Chicago State (12.8 ppg, 3.0 steals per game) and NJIT's Jheryl Wilson (14.6 ppg).

Five athletes were selected to the All-Newcomer team led by Newcomer of the Year Gonzalez.

Joining Gonzalez on the All-Newcomer Team were Flores, Preadom, South Dakota's Jake Thomas (12.6 points, .420 3-pt. pct.) and Texas-Pan American's Aaron Urbanus (.376 3-pt. pct.).

Louie Krogman of South Dakota received the Sixth Man Award after coming off the bench the majority of the season to score 9.8 points per game. He's connected on 57-164 from beyond the arc for 35 percent and averages 2.0 treys per game. In league-only games he scored 11.3 points per contest.

South Dakota Coach Dave Boots was named Coach of the Year after leading the Coyotes to the regular-season title with an 11-1 GWC record. Overall, South Dakota enters the conference tournament with a 20-9 mark. Boots, who is in his 22nd season at USD, has a record of 463-181 with the Coyotes and an overall mark of 578-244.

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader