top url
Women's sports
Archived Sports
South Dakota Wins Men's and Women's GWC Indoor Track & Field Titles

South Dakota men and women claim GWC Indoor titles

South Dakota men and women claim GWC Indoor titles

Feb. 27, 2010



The University of South Dakota men's and women's teams successfully defended their Great West Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday as the Coyotes were crowned conference champions at the DakotaDome in Vermillion, S.D.

USD's women scored 230.5 points to second-place Utah Valley's 195, while the Coyote men scored 187 points to 168 for UVU.

South Dakota's Rob Gregoire was named Male Athlete of the Year, while USD's Ramsey Fitzsimmons took home the Female Athlete of the Year honors for the second straight year.

Fitzsimmons earned 36.5 team points in five events. After winning the 3,000 meters and anchoring the winning distance medley relay on Friday, she placed in the top three in three events on Saturday. Fitzsimmons ran a season-best 4:57 in the mile to finish just four tenths of a second away from the DakotaDome record, claimed second in the 800 in 2:17 and earned third in the 5,000 meters in 17:46.

Gregoire competed in four events to earn 23 team points. He won the 3,000 meters on Friday, before placing in the top five in three events on Saturday. He was fourth in the 5,000 meters with a personal-best 15:17, fifth in the 800 meters in 1:58 and fifth in the mile in 4:20.

South Dakota's Kenna Wolter broke the USD school record with a leap of 40-8.75 in the women's triple jump, Bethany Buell won the pole vault by clearing 12-1.50 and Emma Erickson won the 400m with a time of 56.87 for the second straight year and the 800 with a meet-record time of 2:17.18. Morgan Pressley of

Houston Baptist claimed the Female Newcomer of the Year Award after anchoring the winning women's 4x400-meter relay and placing second in the 400 (57.67).

Utah Valley's Allah Laryea-Akrong won both the 60 and 200-meter dashes with times of 6.86 and GWC meet record 21.73, respectively. Laryea-Akrong was also a member of the winning 4x400 relay team. UVU won several other events on the final day of the championships on both the men's and women's sides. Kenneth Boggs picked up the win in the 60 hurdles (8.44), Trac Norris, who was named GWC Newcomer of the Year, won the 1-mile run with a meet record of 4:17.98, Chandler Rieske took the heptathlon with 4,543 points and the tandem of Andrew Graham, Laryea-Akrong, Jake Brydson and Mike Keith won the 4x400-meter relay in 3:23.64.

Aleina Eisenhauer took the title for the UVU women in the 5,000 (17:29.14) and Maryn Pincock won the shot put with a throw of 12.98m (42-07.00).

Brittane Gaines took the 60m (7.63) title for the HBU women, teammate Cindee Wright claimed the 200-meter crown with a time of 24.86 and the HBU tandem of Disa Foster, Tramisha McGrew, Wright and Pressley won the 4x400m relay in a time of 3:54.94.

Maximo Mendoza ran a 15:00.25 to claim the 5,000m championship for the HBU men, Jameson Strachan from Texas-Pan American claimed the 400m title after posting a meet record time of 49.69, while North Dakota won the women's 60m hurdles championship with Jessica Butler's 8.98.

Coyote head coaches Lucky Huber and Dave Gottsleben repeated as GWC Coach of the Year for the women and men, respectively.

Final Men's Team Standings and Awards:

1) South Dakota 187

2) Utah Valley 168

3) Houston Baptist 109

4) North Dakota 57

5) Texas-Pan American 45

6) New Jersey Inst. of Tech. 36.50

7) Chicago State Univ. 28.50

8) Seattle University 27

Men's Coach of the Year: Dave Gottsleben - South Dakota

Male Newcomer of the Year: Trac Norris - Utah Valley

Male Athlete of the Year: Rob Gregoire - South Dakota


Final Women's Team Standing and Awards:

1) USD 230.50

2) UVU 195

3) UND 88

4) HBU 82

5) UTPA 39

6) SU 14.50

7) NJIT 10

8) CSU 3

Women's Coach of the Year: Lucky Huber - USD

Female Newcomer of the Year: Morgan Pressley - HBU

Female Athlete of the Year: Ramsey Fitzsimmons - USD